History and Organization


On 10 June 2010 experts from 20 dual career services at German institutes of higher education met in Berlin and initiated the “Dual Career Network Germany" (DCND). The idea for this initiative has been developed since 2009 by the Universities of Heidelberg, Kiel, Konstanz, Stuttgart, Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich, Technical University Munich and Tubingen in the light of an increasing number of conferences held on the subject.

The cooperation in a network allows for close cooperation while respecting different levels of commitment of the partners. The chosen name Dual Career Network Germany (DCND). It was important to find an expression that would include not only universities but other potential members as well, such as research institutes.

The „Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft e.V.”, a German industry initiative promoting science and learning, and its dural career funding program was an important driver for the development of the network structure and its work process. Furthermore, network meetings and specific trainign measures for the member's  dual career consultants were possible. From 2013 on, the network is financed by mempership fees.



In summer 2018, the network counts 44 members.

The speakerswomen

All network members elect two speakerswomen/-men for a period of 2 years. The speakerswomen/-men may be contacted for press inquiries and questions regarding DCND membership.

Current speakerswomen: Kerstin Melzer (Universität Konstanz) and Yvonne Eder (Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg)

Former speakerswomen: Katharina Klaas (Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg); Charlotte Reinisch (Universität Potsdam); Kerstin Dübner-Gee (Technische Universität München); Marlar Kin (Goethe-Universität Frankfurt a.M.)

Working groups

DCND is organized in working groups:

AG Finance

Members 2015/16:
Bettina Bolterauer (Universität Kiel), Judith Ebach (Universität Bonn), Nicole Richter (RWTH Aachen)

AG Public Relations

Members 2015/16:
Michaela Krex (Universität Siegen), Felicitas Thönnessen (KIT Karlsruhe), Yvonne Weber (Universität Kassel), Mabel Braun (Universität Bayreuth), Anja Schwarze (TU Dresden), Brigitte Doetsch (TU Braunschweig)

AG Quality

Members 2015/16:
Lydia Eichmann (TU München), Simone Lange (Dual Career Netzwerk Südostniedersachsen), Susanne Mooslehner (LMU München)

AG Strategy

Members 2015/16:
Yvonne Eder (Dual Career Netzwerk Nordbayern), Katharina Klaas (Universität Freiburg), Nicole Richter (RWTH Aachen), Marlar Kin (Goethe-Universität Frankfurt a.M.), Kerstin Melzer (Universität Konstanz)

Honorary members

Persons who have made outstanding contributions to network foundation and development are nominated as honorary members after their personal resignation.

Kerstin Dübner-Gee
Elke Gramespacher
Charlotte Reinisch
Selma Speith Kölbl
Ulrike Buntenbruch